MusicOverGunz


ALBUM REVIEW! Ke$ha – “Animal”
January 6, 2010, 6:41 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

"Animal" Album Cover

Just today, new pop sensation KE$HA (dont forget the $) released her debut album “Animal”. Ke$ha blew into the music scene with her single “Tik Tok” which is killing the charts and breaking records worldwide. I listented to the album and have a few things to say about it so I decided to give you a review.

1. “YOUR LOVE IS MY DRUG” – The title makes it sound like an amazing anthem, it isn’t, but it nots horrible either. It’s a fun, catchy pop song with a catchy chorus, just like “Tik Tok”. I do think that the lyrics on the song are definitely superior to the actual production. I find her to be very unique and actually kind of funny when it comes to her use of words, “My esteem is gonna be affected if I keep it up like a love-sick crackhead.” I do think this is one of the most Radio-Friendly songs on the album, but its not great. 4/5

2. “TIK TOK” – Although everytime I hear the part “Brush my teeth with a bottle of jag” I throw up a little in my mouth, I do love this song. Its a TRUE Pop record, and hits everything right on the nail. Its the ultimate party song, and it definitely can make anyone shake! 5/5

3. “TAKE IT OFF” – Hmmm. I think I know what she was trying to do with this, but it didnt work out too well in my opinion. I think the bass had to be turned up, and the auto-tune turned down. The song does nothing for me, but I wouldnt skip it if I was driving in the car. 2/5

4. “KISS N TELL” – The song is alright. The song sounds like a leftover from Katy Perry’s “One of The Boys” record, but it does the job. I guess its a good song, but its just not good enough. 2/5

5. “STEPHEN” – I couldnt get through the whole song the first time, because I just felt like shes trying too hard to be unique, and it made this song sound bad. It seems that she forces her voice. The lyrics are okay however. 1/5

6. “BLAH BLAH BLAH” – I have to admit, the second the song started, I got very excited. And when she started to sing, I got more excited. The song is definetly a party hit, and 3OH!3 were perfect for the track. I see this track become very popular. And I think she definetly needs to stick to this sound which resembles “Tik Tok”, instead of the sound she was going for with “Stephen”. 4/5

7. “HUNGOVER” – Im having a bit of an identity crisis with KE$HA at this point. In this song she sound completely different then in all her other songs; It sounds nothing like her. But anyways, the song is great, and the lyrics are even greater! Definetly the best of the slower songs on the album. 4/5

8. “PARTY AT A RICH DUDES HOUSE” – Again with this song, I think I know what she was trying to do, but it just didnt work for me. The title is very misleading, making one think its going to be an anthem, when its just a catchy track. FAIL. 1/5

9. “BACKSTABBER” – One of the best on the album. The lyrics are fun, and definitely “KE$HA”. The Chorus makes the song, and it made me actually sing along. 4/5

10. “BLIND” – Its Ok. Thats It. 3/5

11. “DINOSAUR” – At this point, I was starting to get tired of the generic beats. Every song started to sound the same. This song is also just okay, I dont really get it though =/. 3/5

12. “DANCING WITH TEARS IN MY EYES” – This song could have been much much better, but its still AMAZING! I definetly think this song has the most potential to be a hit after “TIK TOK”. I Love It! 4/5

13. “BOOTS & BOYS” – Eh. Good for a Hollister playlist. Thats all. 2/5

14. “ANIMAL” – The first verse was amazing! But then… It just got boring. Its overall just an ok song. 3/5

– Overall, I think the album is a fun record with cool lyrics and generic beats. There are song stand-outs, but some songs are just complete Fails. Lets see where this goes.

ALBUM SCORE: 3/5

Go To http://www.myspace.com/kesha to listen to “ANIMAL” in FULL.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

