MusicOverGunz


album review: mgmt – “Congratulations”!
March 31, 2010, 1:19 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Click Here to stream Congratulations on mgmt’s official website whoismgmt.com

I held off on doing a review of MGMT’s new album Congratulations, because I felt I needed to give it a few more listens before making full judgement. At first listen, I wasn’t feeling the album, because It was very different from Oracular Spectacular, which I love. I was expecting risque lyrics, and killer beats, but what I got was a too-much alike mid-tempo’s with repetitive beats. After a few more listens some of songs have grown on me a lot, but I’m still not feeling it too much. I feel like this album is a step down from their last album. With that said, I do respect the originality. The album might be a lot of things, but one thing it isn’t is unoriginal. MGMT has stayed true to their audience, and although, in my opinion, this album isn’t great, at least they didn’t do something that isn’t true to their style. I do like some of the songs on the album. My favorite is Brian Eno, which I think can be the biggest song commercially. I also like Congratulations and Song for Dan Treacy. Flash Delirium has grown a bit on me after watching the music video, which premiered today (You can check it out below). I think the album will grew on me much more in the future, but right now I’d give it 4/10, while I’d give Oracular Spectacular 7/10.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

