MusicOverGunz


Solange talks about new record!
April 9, 2010, 1:27 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Solange is currently working on her third album, and she spoke to Vulture recently about what we can expect. “You have Vampire Weekend who have more African references musically than most African-American artists. As soon as I heard the Dirty Projectors song, it sounded like an R&B song. That happens when I listen to Of Montreal — I can hear so much funk shit that I grew up listening to … There’s so many different musical references in everything now that it just makes sense to take advantage of this moment. The white kids aren’t going to jack our style anymore! We’re taking it back,” Solange explained. She also spoke about having to beg other artists to work with her in the past, “On my last album I had to beg the Cee-Los and the Bilals and the Pharrells to work with me, and now I have all these great people actually call me. But I know to have the best album that I can possibly have, I’d like to choose one producer. Right now I’m in the process of who’s the best fit, musically wise.”

I’m really excited about this record. I loved Sol-Angel & The Hadley Street Dreams, and her cover of “Stillness Is The Move“. I think it’s a great idea to release the album on an Independent label, because she’ll have more freedom to be creative. There is no word on when the album will be released, but solange says, “I’m planning on renting this tree house in Costa Rica and locking myself up and finishing it.” Hopefully she does that soon.

Source

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

