MusicOverGunz


M.O.G.’s Top 20 Musicians who will dominate the new decade!
April 17, 2010, 5:40 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So the 00’s were pretty much a boring decade for music. There weren’t many artists who truly made an impact in music history except a few like, Kayne West, Rihanna, Paramore, & of course, the queen of the decade, Beyonce. At the end of the decade, however, something really exciting happened. Around 2008 Indie bands began to take over the world, and in 2009 someone called Lady Gaga burst onto the music scene, finally bringing some excitement back to Pop music. I have hope that this decade will be 10 times better then the last, and we will see some fresh faces start a movement in music, like was done in the 70’s and 80’s with Hair Bands and Naughty Pop Singers such as Madonna and Cyndy Lauper.

I’ve created a list of the 20 musicians that I think will dominate the music scene this decade. There will be new singers on here, as well as singers who have already made their mark, but I think will continue to be a triple threat. Some of my picks may seems unusual, but music is just unusual sometimes.

20. Adam Lambert


 

He didn’t win American Idol, but Adam Lambert sure has surpassed winner Kris Allen in terms of success. I think Adam Lambert will do great this decade for many reasons. One reason is that there is no one like him. Another reason is that he actually has talent; Although he has gimmicks, he has the voice to back it up, unlike many other performers. After watching him perform “Whataya Want From Me” on American Idol this week, I’m sure there will be big things to come from him.

19. Chromeo

It seems like everyday a new dance song comes out by someone we’ve never heard of. We look them up on google, remember their names, and then they disappear forever. After listening to “Night By Night” by electrofunk duo Chromeo, I thought, heres another band that I’ll never hear from again, but after seeing the video a few times on MTV, I couldn’t stop my curiosity. I listened to some of their songs, and I fell in love. With their new album coming out this summer, I’m sure they will get the attention of many. I really can’t wait to hear the Solange collaboration. “Business Casual” comes out August 17th.

18. Wynter Gordon

Although you may not know who Wynter Gordon is, she definitely isn’t new to the game. She has already showed us her skills, writing for Mary J. Blige, Danity Kane, and Jennifer Lopez. And she has given us a sneak preview of what’s to come with a number of mix-tapes, and appearances in Flo Rida and David Guetta’s albums. Wynter is now ready to step into the spotlight, with the release of her debut album “With The Music I Die”, set for release this summer! Her first single “Dirty Talk” has been released, and it’s hot!

17. Frankmusik

Vincent Frank has already had some success internationally with his debut album “Completely Me”, but the release of his new single “Losing Streak” shows that he’s ready to take over the whole world. I’m not sure why Losing Streak hasn’t been released officially yet, but when it does, I think it’s gonna be big; it’s one of the best pop songs I’ve heard in a while. Frankmusik’s sophomore album “Follow The Leader” is expected to be released by the end of the year.

16. Nicki Minaj

Who doesn’t know Nicki Minaj? In just the short time that she’s been in the spotlight, the Queens-raised rapper has managed to become well known all over the world. Her debut single “Massive Attack” has everyone talking, and I’m sure that will be the case with everything she’s releasing in the future. Nicki has been getting a lot of heat for her “animated voice” and Barbie personality/style, but I’m not sure why. After all, she is a performer and musician. We need someone who isn’t just gonna get on stage and do the same thing over and over. I appreciate artists who have an “act” and are true performers. Whether people like it or not, Nicki is gonna be everywhere for years to come.

15. Katy Perry

Everything about Katy Perry seems wrong, but right at the same time. What I love about her is that she isn’t afraid to go “there”, and take risks. “I Kissed A Girl” will run down in history as one of the best pop songs of all time, but Katy Perry is just getting started. Supposedly, her upcoming record will be everyone’s favorite guilty pleasure. Can’t Wait!

14. Kelly Rowland

She might have been in Beyonce’s shadow before, but Kelly Rowland has recently shown that she can make it on her own. She has shown her potential with the David Guetta produced “When Love Takes Over”, and her upcoming single “Commander” already has everyone blabbing.

13. Passion Pit

Passion Pit’s strange style, hypnotizing beats, and sing-a-long lyrics mixed together make up the perfect band.

12. Kings of Leon

They already have four albums and a few hit singles, but Kings of Leon are just getting started. “Use Somebody” wasn’t only one of the best songs of 2009, but it’s one of my favorite songs of all time. Kings of Leon have much more to give, but we might not get to experience it anytime soon; the band is taking a break from music to play their favorite sport, Golf. 0___o

11. Solange

Her album “Sol-Angel & The Hadley Street Dreams” might not have performed well, but everyone knows who Solange is. Maybe it’s for the wrong reasons, but it’s definitely to her advantage. Solange is currently recording her third LP, which she’s expecting to finish over the summer in a treehouse (or maybe she was just being sarcastic again), and the hype has already started. I’m sure she is going to dominate the indie scene, and hopefully have mainstream success with this new record.

10. Selena Gomez

I’m sure you all had to look twice, but yes, Selena Gomez is on this list. There is one simple reason why, and that is…”Naturally”. I haven’t watched disney channel since “That’s So Raven” got axed, but I know good music when I hear it, and “Naturally” is EPIC!

09. Janelle Monae

Whether she makes it big or not, Janelle Monae deserves to be on this list. I haven’t heard one song from her that I dislike, and I feel like she is the voice of this generation, so hopefully this generation gives her a chance. “ArchAndroid” will snatch many wigs.

08. Justin Bieber

3 Top 20 singles, haters at every corner, girls scratching each-others faces off to get to him. And he hasn’t even been out for a year! No more needs to be said.

07. Band of Skulls

This might seem like an unusual choice, but their album “Baby Darling Doll Face Honey” is, in my opinion, one of the best rock albums in history, and I stand by that completely. I see sold out arena’s for this band in the near future.

06. J. Cole

He was the first artist signed to Jay-Z’s new label Roc Nation. His debut album “Cole World” is getting a lot of hype in the hip-hop world, and I’m sure the comparisons between him and Drake have already begun.

05. B.o.B.


 

Every song I’ve heard from him so far has been GENIUS, and I can’t wait to get his debut album “The Adventures of Bobby Ray”. I think he has a lot of potential, and I see him doing big things. I actually like him better then some of these other new rappers that are hogging my radio.

04. Kanye West

He ruled the last decade, and I’m sure he will be pretty big in this one too. There is only one Kanye.

03. Drake

I don’t think this one need’s an explanation.

02. Beyonce

She became a legend in the last decade, and this decade I’m sure she will continue on her winning streak. Beyonce can do no wrong, and I know she will not let her fans down when it comes to music. What other female artist can do what Beyonce does? Heres to another decade of the Queen Bey ruling the world.

01. Lady GaGa

Im 99.9% sure that GaGa will be the biggest artist of this decade.

Notable Mentions: Trey Songz, Jay-Z, Rihanna, Miley Cyrus, Phoenix, Jamie Foxx, Justin Timberlake, Crystal Castles, Jason Derulo, Simon Curtis, Travie McCoy.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

ohhhhhhhhh my god!!!
Lady gaga…!
oooo no…no no!

Comment by tannaz




Leave a Reply

