MusicOverGunz


Album Review: Bruno Mars – “Doo-Wops & Hooligans”
September 28, 2010, 1:31 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

With his amazing collaborations with B.o.B. and Travis McCoy (I still refuse to call him Travie), Bruno Mars definitely made the perfect entrance into the music industry. The soulful singer released a an EP a few months back titled “It’s Better When You Don’t Understand” which, in my opinion, was a great effort. I’ve been waiting to review this album ever since I heard it was coming, and I was so excited to finally listen to the record.

I have to say the I have mixed feelings about the record. Some songs are brilliant, while other fall short. I know that some of the songs I’m not feeling as much will probably grow on me some, but for now, there are a few songs that should have definitely been left out. Now, the songs that a I liked, I really liked. There are some automatic hits on the album, the most obvious one being “Grenade”. And I know some people have been saying the they hate the album title, but I personally love it; it’s original and exciting. Even though there are some boring songs on the album, overall I think this was great for a first album, but I was expecting just a bit more. Check out a song by song review, and overall rating of the album below:

  1. Grenade: The standout track on the record. It’s a great, vocally driven song, with great lyrics. – 8/10
  2. Just The Way You Are: At first I wasn’t feeling it as much, but it’s definitely a classic song. It’s a great breath of fresh air from all these other generic songs being played on the radio. – 8/10
  3. Our First Time: It’s shows that he has a great voice, but nothing else really. It’s a good song, but unoriginal. – 6/10
  4. Runaway Baby: This is, hands down, my favorite song on the album. It’s exciting and original. The perfect mix of Old Soul and Contemporary R&B. – 8/10
  5. The Lazy Song: Obviously this wasn’t made seriously, but I don’t think Bruno accomplished what he was trying to do. The song is corny and boring. I do commend Bruno for being brave enough to put this on the record. – 4/10
  6. Marry You: It’s OK; Nothing special. – 5/10
  7. Talking To The Moon: I think this song has potential to be a radio hit, but it’s just okay to me. The verses are great, but the chorus is disappointing. – 6/10
  8. Liquor Store Blues ft. Damien Marley: Bruno’s vocals on this song are KILLER! The reggae vibe is also a nice touch, and makes the song what it is. – 7/10
  9. Count On Me: Reminds me of “Hey There Delilah”. It’s not all that great. – 6/10
  10. The Other Side ft. Cee-Lo & B.o.B: This is one of my favorites. Bruno’s vocals sound great, and the chorus is hella catchy. There is, however, one big problem, and that is that Cee-Lo and B.o.B. overshadow Bruno on the song. Bruno should have added another verse to the song. 7.5/10

M.O.G. RATING: 6.8/10

STREAM “DOO-WOPS & HOOLIGANS” ON MYSPACE!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

